Keene Parts Georgia Spring Nationals


Crisp Motorsports Park

This weekend is the 2nd running of the GA Spring Nationals at Crisp Motorsport Park in Cordele, GA. The event is sanctioned by the Southern Super Series and is the second event of the year for the Series.

The event begins with practice Friday afternoon for all divisions beginning at 2 PM and the night concludes with local division features beginning at 8 PM.  Saturday afternoon there are additional practice sessions, qualifying for Pro and Super Late Models, and an autograph session beginning at 5:30.  Opening ceremonies begin with Pro Late Model driver introductions at 6:30 followed by 75 laps of Pro LAte racing and beginning at approximately 8 PM the Super Lates begin their portion of the show and the race is scheduled to be125 laps.

Watermelon Capital Speedway was the site of Speedfest 2022, one of the first races of the season for many of the Pro and Super Late drivers in a co-sanctioned CRA – Southern Series event in January. Michael Hinde won the Pro Late Model portion of the event after beginning his season in a stout if not surprising way by taking the podium in 5 of the 7 Pro Late Model races at New Smyrna, winning three of those races. Bubba Pollard held off Chandler Smith and took home the checkered flag in the Super Late portion of the program. Pollard had already started the season on a high note winning the Red Eye 50/50 at New Smyrna on January 8.  

Looking back at last year’s Spring Nationals we saw Corey Heim come through the field after a late-race penalty due to contact with race leader Jett Noland.  Heim is not scheduled for this year’s event and most recently won last week’s NASCAR truck race.  The winner of the Pro late race was Christopher Tullis followed by Stephen Nasse and Brandon Brilliant.

This race is the first that includes additional funding to the 12 Southern Super Stars.  This program was designed to ensure that none of the top drivers in points would be competing for less than $1000 in take-home prizes.  The top 12 in points after the first race of the season are eligible for this program with the highest finisher receiving an additional $750, the second-highest finisher receiving $600, and the third-highest finisher receiving an additional $600. The amounts decrease down to an additional $250 to the 12th highest finisher. 

The two highest-in points are Ty Majeski and Austin Nason and neither is scheduled to be racing with the Series this weekend.  The next in points is Bubba Pollard who is entered into the event. The remainder of the 12 is Hunter Robbins, Jake Garcia, Stephen Nasse, Jake Finch, Casey Roderick, Jett Noland, Kyle Plott, Jackson Boone, and Carson Hocevar. The road to this top 12 only includes one race, The Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway where  Majeski earned his historic fifth Rattler win.

The entries for this year’s event in the Pro Late race  include:

Graham Campbell # 1

Neal Nimmerman # 2

Spencer Bragg # 08

Tanner Carter # 15

David Hodges Jr # 16

Brandon Brilliant # 22

Cody Hall # 28

Timothy Watson # 28

Allen Gordon # 29

Stuart Dutton # 32

Rhoden Racing # 38

Cody King # 62

Zack Dixon # 67

Michael Hinde # 69

Cale Hale # 77

Giovanni Ruggerio # 81

Colin Allman

The entries for this year’s event in the Super Late race  include:

Michael House # 1

Kyle Plott # 4

Johnny Sauter # 5

Jackson Boone # 7

Steve Dorer # 10

Hunter Robbins #  18

Brandon Anderson # 21a

Jesse Love # 21 L

Bubba Pollard # 26

Albert Francis # 33

Jake Garcia # 35

Michael Goddard # 37

Daniel Dye # 43

Jett Noland #  50

Stephen Nasse # 51n

Michael Atwell # 51a

Matt Craig #  54

Collin Allman # 67

Michael Hinde # 69

Kyle Bryant # 79

Admission for adults Friday is $15 and Saturday is $25.

If you are unable to attend teh event it will be streamed on Racing America.

Photo: Jackson Boone Facebook Page

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.